Meet the Team – Stacey Sicard

How and when did you first get started in affiliate marketing?
I got my start in early 1997. My father and his biz partner launched “” which was one of the first lead generation companies. I was in charge of media department and got my battle wounds there. From that success we launched Trimlife which was the first continuity weight loss offer out there. That led to a long list of products and offers we developed and for me over a decade of consulting other start ups and networks.

What do you most like about the industry?
That I can still learn something new even after all this time. That the industry is really still in it’s infancy stages. That there is still so much to explore and grow as an Advertiser, Affiliate, Publisher or Merchant. That I can now pay it forward by helping others just starting in the industry and proudly being part of the Mentoring Program at Affiliate Summit.

What improvements you would like to see in the industry?
Compliance. Information shared more frequently. Unfortunately there will always be those few that try and ruin it for the industry. The ones that are in it just to make a quick dollar.

Do you see affiliates embracing mobile and social?
Absolutely. Mobile has become the way people check their email and surf the web rather than their computers. Companies need to accept changes to their advertising like mobile and social as they come along and benefit from being one of the first to adapt. Social Media is intensifying your branding to the audience and niche of your choice.

What other jobs have you had outside of affiliate marketing?
Wait… there is something outside of Affiliate Marketing? 🙂 I was a Regional Director for a large clothing chain here in Toronto, Canada for about 10 years. I also worked as head of Patient Accounts at Toronto General Hospital.

And on the personal, “fun” side:

What are a few of your hobbies?
I love travelling. I’ve been to or lived in just about every US State there is (thanks, Dad). Love the Caribbean and Europe. I love museums and art galleries as much as outside patios with my favourite bottle of wine and a good friend. Love spending time with my two daughters, 20 and 25. The gym is my salvation. I’ll be kicking and screaming leaving the house but once I’m there I’m in my zone.

What activities/sports did you do in high school or college?
VolleyBall, track and swimming.

What is your favorite vacation location?
Jamaica, St. Marteen, the cottage (since there is no wifi) :).

If you won a lottery, what would be the first thing you’d buy?
A new A4. My baby is already 10 years old.

Your favorite band to see live?
Pearl Jam, Prince, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Bruno Mars, Rush (yay, Canada),

What is your “must see” TV?
Big Brother, Big Bang Theory, Better Call Saul, The Last Man On Earth.

Coke or Pepsi?
Don’t drink any soda but if I have to… Coke.